Contact Us |  

Search form

Dr. Shapiro Receives Prytanean Faculty Award

Berkeley Social Welfare Assistant Professor Valerie Shapiro has been named the recipient of the 2014 Prytanean Faculty Award.

Prytanean, the first women's honor organization in the United States, was founded on the UC Berkeley campus in September 1901. Since 1986, the Prytanean alumnae have selected an outstanding female junior faculty member to be awarded an unrestricted award of $25,000 for research. Through a competitive faculty review process, the winner is chosen for her record as a distinguished teacher, her demonstrated scholarly achievement and her success as a role model for students at UC Berkeley. Award winners have used the grant for childcare, transportation to research sites and conferences. Many have hired research assistants or purchased equipment that would otherwise be unavailable to them.

Dr. Shapiro joins a prestigious list of UC Berkeley female faculty, including the first award recipient, Associate Vice Provost for the Faculty Angelica Stacy.