Contact Us |  

Search form

Andrea DuBrow Receives 2015 Faculty Mentor Award

Management and Planning Field Consultant to be honored for commitment to grad students

Berkeley Social Welfare Field Consultant and Lecturer Andrea DuBrow has been selected to receive a 2015 Faculty Mentor Award.

The annual honor is bestowed by UC Berkeley’s Graduate Assembly to teaching staff who demonstrate an “outstanding commitment to mentoring, advising and generally supporting graduate students.” DuBrow is one of three individuals to be selected out of 48 total nominations, with the selection committee citing her exemplification of "the principles of graduate mentorship that lead to a successful, happy and healthy graduate student experience."

The nomination was submitted by current students and graduates of the School’s MSW Management and Planning program, including Ruvani Fonseka (MSW '15), Emily Higgs (MSW '16), Liz Taing (MSW '14), Susan Thomaes (MSW '14) and Lisa Ginn Steel (MSW '14)

"This award is especially meaningful to me because it is from the students, who are the true reason why I am in this role," says DuBrow. "Berkeley is focused on the future, whether it is through forward-thinking research or cultivating the next generation of leaders. I try to bring my full self to my students by listening deeply, supporting and even challenging them.

"I am so grateful for the students' beautiful letters of recommendation and to know that I am making a difference," she adds. "That is what our field is all about."

DuBrow will be honored at the Faculty Mentoring Awards Ceremony on Thursday, April 9.