Contact Us |  

Search form

Departmentally Restricted Awards

Departmental Fellowships for Graduate Students

Departmentally Restricted Awards are open to all Berkeley Social Welfare graduate students, including doctoral students and concurrent masters' degree students, subject to the terms of the donor(s)These awards are given on the basis of both academic distinction and demonstrated financial need.

Departmentally Restricted Awards generally range between $500 and $10,000, although annual award amounts are dependent upon available funds and may be flexible from year to year.

  • Entering (new) students are considered for all available awards during the admissions review process; an additional application is not required for new incoming students. To ensure consideration all applicants to graduate study should complete the Fellowships section of the online Graduate Admissions Application.
  • Continuing students submit an application for departmental fellowships, which is made available in the fall semester of each year, for awards for the following academic year.
  • ALL students (entering and continuing) should also submit a completed Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) by the priority deadline to be eligible and considered for any university funding, including Departmentally Restricted Fellowship Awards. You must have a current FAFSA on file to be eligible for the departmental fellowships listed below.


Berkeley Social Welfare Graduate Fellowships

Click on any of the links below to learn more about each fellowship, including eligibility terms and current award amounts:

The Jean Allgeyer Family Fellowship
The Berkeley Social Welfare 60th Anniversary Fellowship
The Mary C. and Robert J. Birgeneau Graduate Fellowship
The Bradner-Cornet Fellowship
The Doris Jackson Britt Fellowship
The Luis Carrillo Endowed Fellowship
The Rintha Mary Carter Social Work Fellowship
The Donald J. Catalano & Fred H. Smith Memorial Fellowship
The Center for the Advanced Study of Aging Services (CASAS) Fellowship
The Martha Chickering Fellowship
The Chow Ngor Peui and Lee Kwai Fong Memorial Fellowship
The Silda E. Covington Fellowship
The Minna B. Crook Fellowship
The Jeffrey Edleson and Sudha Shetty Fellowship
The Joan Ellis Scholarship
The Sue Ann Gershenson Endowed Graduate Fellowship
The Jewelle Taylor Gibbs Multicultural Practice/Policy Fellowship
The Catherine Hutto Gordon International Program Fellowship
The Greenwood Emeritus Faculty Prize for Excellence in Writing
The Elizabeth Shea Holmstrup Fellowship
The Hutto-Patterson Fellowship in School Social Work
The Sasha Ikenberg Fellowship
The S. Allen and Marguerite Johnson Fellowship
The Jeff Jue Award
The Rose Kleiner Memorial Award in Gerontology
The Ralph M. Kramer Award
The Mary Ann Mason Graduate Fellowship
The Irene Macdonald Fellowship
The Maxine W. Meldrum Fellowship
The Lorraine Midanik and Stephen Blum Fellowship
The Lorraine T. Midanik Doctoral Fellowship in Social Welfare
The James and Khadija Midgley Doctoral Award
The Ed and Harriette Nathan Fellowship
The Mary O'Day Gerontology Fellowship
The Charles O'Shea Memorial Scholarship
The Solis Family Fellowship
The Harry Specht Memorial Graduate Fellowship
The Riva Specht Memorial Fellowship
The Tang Opportunity Fellowship in Mental Health
The William E. Valentine and Jonathan Pannor Fellowship
The Wurzel Family Graduate Fellowship

Back to Student Funding